Ranma 1/2 Live Action

(Image from Tokyohive)

So I watched the Live Action of Ranma 1/2 this morning (when I was supposed to be sleeping). Given the type of manga it was (the manga is the original format and the one I am most acquainted with, after all), the live action worked extremely well and was funny and appropriate in what I thought were the right places.

The live action seemed to start off differently to how I remembered it (although it has been quite a while), but I thought it worked rather well. It was pleasant to see female Ranma, while my only complaint is that she seems to appear more often than male Ranma (although that was the case in the manga, wasn’t it?), she had a likable character and was less rough than her male counterpart in many ways, although no less foolish or at times, insensitive.

To an experienced (?) eye, the martial arts featured in the film was… fairly believable. At times it seemed rather ‘weak’, but I was willing to let that pass, given these were actors, after all, and not trained martial artists (or at least, if they were, they did not show it). Their stances and moves at least felt disciplined, which I approved of. Some instances were laughably odd, but since the series is a comedy anyway, it fit right into the feel of it all.

As for character depiction, I thought it was very well done. Kuno, Ranma, Akane, Tofu-sensei, all reminded me very vividly of the characters from the manga. Too bad I did get used to Akane with long hair though, it’s a shame that it did get shortened.

The story is original, so that is uses part of the original story as well as new elements, such a new antagonist. While my opinion on the antagonist is a bit… negative, it was no doubt an interesting character and interesting (and later hilarious) situation.

In my opinion, it’s well worth a watch. Although this review may not tell you much, I think if you want something comedic and slightly over the top, this is the way to go. It’s a well executed revival of a classic series from Rumiko Takahashi-sensei.

I wouldn’t mind seeing a lot more of this live action, but that’s all there appears to be so far, hm? ^^;

Leave a Reply

